Week 4 – Day 4 – “Project Day!”

Date: 28/1/16

Today we had a project day, where we could focus all our attention on our mobile project. The first thing I did was continue texturing the TV model that I created a few days ago. This was by far the hardest model I have had to texture to date. I used a few of the techniques we learned in class the first few days for creating tiling textures, and used Simon’s technique for getting rid of lighting detail in an image (Duplicate the layer, invert the duplicate, apply a soft gaussian blur, set the layer type to Soft Light and lower the opacity). I basically textured the model as it would be in the 1970’s first, in case I want to use a non-abandoned version in the future, and then created a group in Photoshop with grungy mould and scratches.img_7189

I then added a transparency to the glass screen, using an alpha channel, but this caused issues in Maya, so I asked Simon for help. He said that because the object behind the transparency is one sided it is causing drawing issues. So I went back into Maya and remodeled the interior of the TV, and combined the inside and the outside of the TV into the same object, but kept the transparent glass screen as it’s own object. If  I have time I will go back into the UV editor and create a new transparency UV for the model, because at the moment it is using two different materials in Unity(one solid, one transparent).

I then went on to bring a few of my other assets into Unity, and create prefabs out of them.Untitled-2

Finally, I went on to attempt to create some Ivy. I tried to model this a few days ago, but I didn’t really know how to approach it. So I tried playing the new Tomb Raider game to get some reference. Photo 28-01-2016, 11 01 15 pmObviously the Tomb Raider ivy is much higher in polygons, but I tried to recreate something similar anyway. It seemed that the majority of the ivy in the game was just one plane with subdivisions in every way, and each vertex was pulled to make it undulate. So I took this same idea and attempted to create some Ivy in the same way. This ivy isn’t a final asset by any means, but just a test to see if this would work. The result isn’t amazing but it definitely get’s the idea across.Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 21.46.31ivy_test

 

Summary:

We had a project day, where I textured my TV set, modeled and textured some Ivy and brought my assets into Unity.

Week 4 – Day 4 – “Project Day!”

Leave a comment