Week 24 – Day 3&4 –

Today I continued the texturing process. I tested out a few techniques, but it was very difficult to create a texture that was both PBR and stylised with a really nice painterly quality.

texturing

After a lot of deliberating, I eventually decided to stick with the top texture for now, and if I have time later I will test out some other alternatives.

rendr

I then brought this texture into UE to test out how it looked in the blockout scene.

HighresScreenshot00008HighresScreenshot00009

I then tried to break down the side walls into tileable elements. It is becoming increasingly difficult to create tiling textures when the destructed edge of each brick is so different. I have decided to make some of the internal pieces tile, while making the destructed edges very individual Another issue I have faced here is that it is very difficult to create a texture that will meet another texture convincingly.

I decided to sculpt one half of the gate wall in zbrush first as this is the wall with the most bricks. I will then attempt to demolish the wall in various ways, and then tile where possible.

GateWall I know a tiling texture would probably be easier than sculpting all of these bricks individually, but I genuinely feel that the variation will look great in the end result, and will be worth all this trouble!

Week 24 – Day 3&4 –

Leave a comment