Week 18 – Day 4 – Project day

Today I applied a light function, with a basic noise panning through it, to the lanterns floating on the water. This gives them a subtle pulsing glow.Untitled-1

I also modelled Bamboo, and used the to fill the background of the scene. This bamboo is relatively expensive, in my opinion, because it has transparency, is very round, and is very dense. So to combat this I will attempt to render the bamboo out later, and use this to fill in the back ground.

I created the Bamboo in Maya by creating a low and high polygon version of a basic bamboo branch. I then duplicated this bamboo, and deformed it in various ways to create some different variation. I then baked and painted the main body of the bamboo in Substance Painter. I created the leaves in Photoshop. I then brought these meshes into UE4 as separate meshes, and used the foliage painting tool to apply them to the scene.

 

Week 18 – Day 4 – Project day