Week 3 – Day 4 -“Blitz Brief”

Date: 21/1/16

Today we were given a task, set out by the game company Blitz in London, where we had to design and model rubbish, based on a strict brief. The model had to be photorealistic, and reference the images that they produced. It could only contain 500 triangles, and use a single 1024×1024 texture. After a few sketches, I decided to model the “Soft Serviettes” box in the reference photo below. ´+¢BlitzAcademy_Trash_Project_SmallExampleImage

The modelling process wasn’t too difficult. The hardest part was trying to model a low poly asset, while still keeping as much detail as possible. I did this by deleting as many of the inside faces as possible. The hardest part was definitely trying to layout the UVs in a clever way to maximise the resolution. Seeing as the entire UV could only be 1024 by 1024 for the entire asset, I decided the best approach was to overlap as many UVs as possible. I really wanted to introduce a corrugation typical to cardboard  boxes on the exposed edges of any cardboard, so I did this by overlapping all of these edge UVs on on one corrugation texture. The effect came out pretty well:Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 21.33.02.png I also created a specular map, to add highlights to dome of the parts of the texture. I added a soft card texture to my specular map to bring out some of the crisp edges in the corrugation, and I also made all stickers, tape and marker marks varying degrees of specular to add to the realism.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 21.26.32.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-21 at 21.25.53 The result is slightly different to the references image, but only because my model adds some variation.

In total this model took around 8 hours to model, UV and texture. It consists of only 312 triangles, meaning I could add some more detail if I had time. If I did have more time I would like to add an occlusion layer to highlight the depth in the model. I would also like to model some more loose rubbish, like bottles and cans, and scatter them around the object, which would eat up them spare triangles pretty quickly. Finally I would like to add a bump map to  the model in an attempt to bring out some of the corrugation and damage more. These are all pretty easy to do, but I decided better not to do them so as to stick within the time frame. I will add more in the future.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 21.47.18

Summary:

Today we did a brief set out by Blitz where we had to model rubbish in a low-poly but photorealistic way. The project basically examined everything we have learned to date. I was pretty happy with how my model turned out, but UVing the model took a bit too long. I would like to trim my UV time down, to give me more time to model and texture.

Week 3 – Day 4 -“Blitz Brief”

Leave a comment